Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


The three different levels of Restorative Justice

May 15, 2012

From the article in the Sentinel:

Level One is for minor offences or non-criminal incidents like anti-social behaviour, which can be dealt with immediately by the officer at the scene.

All Staffordshire officers are being trained in this area.

In Level Two, for more serious offences or if there are several victims, offenders will meet victims during a conference with a Neighbourhood Resolution Panel, made up of volunteers from the community. They will help talk through the issues and come to a resolution.

Level Three, for serious offences like burglary, robbery or even rape, takes place post-conviction, usually while the offender is in prison. The victim will have the opportunity to meet the offender face-to-face to ask questions and explain the impact of the crime.

Inspector Derrick said: "Often offenders will commit a crime and get sentenced, without ever having to face their victim.

"In Level Three we put them together to try to get some answers.

Read the whole article.

Document Actions

Add comment

You can add a comment by filling out the form below. Plain text formatting. Comments are moderated.

RJOB Archive
View all

About RJOB




Eric Assur portlet image